New High School Football Playoff System Set for 2013 After MIAA Schools Approve Plan

Schools are broken into six divisions for high school football, starting in 2013, after a MIAA vote was taken Friday.

This could be the last year of regional champions in high school football after the MIAA member schools voted 161-131 in favor of a new playoff format, which would crown state champions, starting with the 2013 season, according to the Boston Herald.

The plan was previously approved by the MIAA Football Committee and Tournament Management Committee, but needed a vote of approval from the general assembly, which took place Friday morning at Assabet Valley Regional in Marlboro.

After two years of the pilot program, the plan will be reviewed.

Highlights of the plan include:

  • Eight teams will make the playoffs in each of the six divisions with a state champion to be crowned at Gillette Stadium.
  • The playoffs will start after week eight with a break for Thanksgiving Day games, which will stay the same. Teams could meet in the regular season and in the playoffs.
  • There will be new divisions based on North, South, Central and West.

What it means locally:

  • Division 1 South - Attleboro
  • Division 2 South - Mansfield and King Philip
  • Division 3 Southwest - Oliver Ames, Stoughton, Norwood, Walpole, Bishop Feehan
  • Division 4 South - Sharon, Canton, Foxborough, Dedham and Norton.

A copy of the MIAA proposal and a full breakdown of divisions are posted in the media galery.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »